German Shepherds and Home Insurance Providers

If it doesn't fit in any of the other forums, post it here!
Orlando Paulitician

German Shepherds and Home Insurance Providers

Post by Orlando Paulitician »

A friend of mine gifted me a GS he wasn’t able to adequately care for, a 10 month old pup.

Does anyone have any negative experience with home insurers and owning this breed of dog?

A little bit of googling showed GS on a list of 15 dogs insurers look out for, but that really doesn’t tell me much.

I’m new to both home ownership and GS ownership, so Im not sure what to expect.

The dog literally barks at EVERYTHING, people, other dogs, et cetera.

But he relaxes and becomes friendly once he gets a chance to sniff them.

I’m just worried that when the home insurance inspector comes by, having a large barking dog is going to raise red flags with them.

Im considering taking the dog to training, perhaps Pet Smart or something.

But he would go wild before we even step foot in the door.

I’ve already had to switch insurers once because of some dated wiring in the house (cloth wiring?)
Waffle-brain alumni. Outdoor-, dog-, and gun-enthusiast. Citizens Assisting Citizens volunteer:
https://www.cacteam.com/
rentprop1

Post by rentprop1 »

if the dogs on the list, be sure your insurance will go up once they find out, things like posts on social media etc are a dead giveaway.

look into dog training, I have a girlfriend who has a 120 lb GS thats is a real terror , she's only 5'03 and can't control that dog, she doesn't listen and the dog doesn't listen...she can't even walk her and its only gettin worse

hit up LX460 if he's ever on the forum, he has a couple of them
Chigger

Post by Chigger »

The dog needs training and not at some death camp like pets mart.
Its easy to do, just takes a bit of time and effort.

I've had Pits and GS and Dobermans all my life. Never had a home inspector come by and never told my insurance co because they never asked. Never volunteer info.