First AR15 purchase!

Discussions on all the Black Rifle variants of all calibers and manufacturers.
Martini

First AR15 purchase!

Post by Martini »

Hi everyone!

I want to purchase my first AR15, I like the Sig Sauer mcx virtus patrol or the Daniel Defense DDM4V11Pro. Are there any restrictions in the state of Florida in terms of barrel's length or magazine capacity that I should be aware of. I already have three handguns and I am a valid CCW Permit holder, I want to go hunting for either turkey or I think boar or any small game in South Florida. I am basically new to the AR, however when I was in the military I trained with the M16.
NRA Member 2020
Beretta Aficionado
Tenzing_Norgay

Post by Tenzing_Norgay »

Min. Barrel length for rifles = 16"
Min. Barrel length for pistols = 0" and up
Magazine restrictions = None
- I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you... -
Shadowbob

Post by Shadowbob »

Turkey hunting with an AR? I mean it can be done just not as fun as calling them in within shotgun and bow range.
Good luck finding somewhere to hunt if you don’t already have a place.
gforester

Post by gforester »

There is a magazine restriction for hunting. You have a capacity limit of 5 rounds for hunting purposes.
Tenzing_Norgay

Post by Tenzing_Norgay »

gforester wrote: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:10 am There is a magazine restriction for hunting. You have a capacity limit of 5 rounds for hunting purposes.
Not for boar.
Lastrites

Post by Lastrites »

Tenzing_Norgay wrote: Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:51 pm
gforester wrote: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:10 am There is a magazine restriction for hunting. You have a capacity limit of 5 rounds for hunting purposes.
Not for boar.
Depends if one is speaking about private land or public land hunting, the latter is 5 rd only. Seen two many fwc that would just love to stir up shit even on private land, reminds me of that juice & squeeze thing..
Tenzing_Norgay

Post by Tenzing_Norgay »

Lastrites wrote: Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:30 am