What's the advantage to building vs buying?

Discussions on all the Black Rifle variants of all calibers and manufacturers.
ab4ka

What's the advantage to building vs buying?

Post by ab4ka »

Ok, so it's probably sacrilege to admit it, but I've never built an AR before (I just bought my first one not long ago, had to sell it now I've replaced it). I have a couple of questions...

1. Is there an advantage to building versus buying?
1a. Is it cheaper to build?
2. Do I need any special tools?

I want another one and I can't decide which way to go.
rentprop1

Post by rentprop1 »

yes you will need barrel tools to completely assemble one from the ground up, cheaper to buy a palmetto kit, with the assembled upper and then watch a youtube video, and with minor garage tools put the lower together, a hammer and a few punches is all you need

if you piece meal it out you will spend twice what an entry level AR sells for, its like Legos for adults
Skoll

Post by Skoll »

IMO if you just want a range fuck around toy, lowest acceptable quality imo is just buying a sub $300 PSA AR.

If you want something for like home defense or if you actually use it for work, you'll probably want to buy a proven rifle or just build one from parts from reputable vendors.
"The essential American soul is hard, isolate, stoic, and a killer. It has never yet melted."
SilentRecon

Post by SilentRecon »

Nothing wrong with building one but requires special tools if done right.

Plan on keeping it because they are hard to sell to anyone competent in the firearms industry. People are not looking for home built ARs unless they dont know better. Home builds have a reputation for a hodgepodge of cheap/mismatched parts put together by a "built not bought" master armor who previously installed a grip...once. the propensity for failure is a lot higher for home brews.

That is why legit manufactured rifles sell easy and home brews cross your fingers and say a prayer to sell anywhere near what you put into it.